Week 3 – Final Lap for Greenlight

This week consisted of mopping up the design, narrative focus as well as final art direction for the game. There’s a lot of work yet to do, but we sorted out a lot during class. The feedback that we talked about in class largely consisted of making sure that the glyx was entirely necessary as well as some narrowing down of the varies planet art scope wise.

My plate for the week consisted of the creation of visual design documentation as well as continued work on the initial part of the level. I’ll be moving from my paper sketches and Illustrator documents and into the game to start testing of them and implementation into the game. For Greenlight I’m aiming to get some of the level concept pictures to get an idea on the sort of assets that would be needed for constructing the level design consistently throughout the games development.

I will also be working with Chris on starting to prototype out the collectible behaviors into the game. I don’t foresee this being too much trouble, however I haven’t discussed with Chris yet at what his estimate on how long it might take. I’m excited to work with Chris again, we’ve worked on design and content tools a lot before and I haven’t worked side-by-side with him since last semester.

Leave a comment